Pumpkin Spice Syrup

I love fall. I love the crisp, clean air. I love the colors of the trees and the way the leaves crunch as you walk over them. I love the fact that my house is no longer 5 million degrees. But most of all I love pumpkin anything! Pumpkin pie, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin curry, pumpkin baby food (dont ask). But my #1 pumpkin love is Pumpkin Spice lattes. I pretty much wait all year to throw my money into the hands of any coffee shop who can pump out a good PSL, so in the interest of being too lazy to walk to Starbucks saving money I decided to try my hand at making pumpkin spice syrup.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

This syrup took me 2 batches. I think mostly due to the fact that instead of buying pumpkin pie spice I make my own so I can reduce the amount of ginger. I hate ginger. Hate it, hate it, hate it! It haunts me. But I digress- The first batch was much too cinnamon-y and made my coffee taste more like a cinnamon dolce than pumpkin spice, so for batch 2 I used less cinnamon and more nutmeg, ground cloves and, ugh, ginger. I also added about a tablespoon- or more accurately: a good glug- of cream which really helped smooth out the flavors and make the syrup more rich and creamy. Its completely optional but if you have some kicking around I recommend adding it. I’m sure you could add milk instead but this is pumpkin spice syrup, which I think warrants a bit of indulgence.

image image
image

This recipe only uses pumpkin puree and its kind of a bummer having to open an entire can only to use 2 tablespoons of pumpkin. My solution for you is to make my whole wheat pumpkin muffins!

Pumpkin Spice Syrup

Makes about a cup of syrup

  • 3/4 cup of water
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 heaping tablespoons pumpkin puree
  • Optional: 1 tbsp whipping cream

In a small saucepan mix water and sugar together- over medium-high heat bring to a simmer. Once simmering reduce heat to low and add pumpkin pie spice and pumpkin puree. Let simmer for 5 minutes, stirring frequently.

Remove from heat, add cream, stir, and add to your coffee!

Leave a Reply

