Whole Wheat Pumpkin Oat Muffins

I have a muffin obsession. Seriously, its bad. When I was pregnant I made muffins at least every few days and they would somehow disappear faster than I could whip them out. My muffin top is literally due to eating so many muffins! And I don’t discriminate: Blueberry, oatmeal, bran, even those really disappointing muffins that have surprise raisins in them- ugh! I love them all, but these Whole wheat pumpkin muffins just might be my favorite.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Maybe its the fact that they are whole wheat and have a vegetable in them, or maybe its that they are packed with oats so they make a good quick breakfast (who am I kidding, these are a breakfast side- I like a big breakfast), or maybe its because when these muffins are baking my kitchen is filled with a beautiful fall aroma.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Whole Wheat Pumpkin Oat Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar- packed
  • 1/3 cup oil- the original recipe calls for vegetable oil but I prefer olive oil
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Optional: oats and pumpkin seeds for topping

Preheat oven to 400F and line a 12 muffin tin.

In a medium bowl, or stand mixer, mix flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and pumpkin pie spice. In a large bowl, mix buttermilk, pumpkin puree, oil, eggs, vanilla, and sugar. Add dry ingredients to wet and stir until just combined. Divide batter among muffin cups (about 3/4 full). Sprinkle oats and pumpkin seeds over each muffin.

Bake until puffed up and wooden pick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean, about 15 minutes.

One thought on “Whole Wheat Pumpkin Oat Muffins

Leave a Reply

